You know what they say about….

Full Circle

with one comment

I’ve been putting off the final blog entry for quite a while now, because I’ve been trying to work out if I actually learned anything profound and important on the road. Well the answer’s no. Though I did add to my knowledge of car maintenance, hotel booking, and US geography.

Just to update things – I flew back to New York after leaving the car in Seattle, and Ricky arrived in NY with the car a couple of weeks later. I’m now subletting an apartment in the grungy-yet chic Lower East Side, next door to a trendy rooftop restaurant. This area is known for its scummy apartments, dirty streets, extortionate rents and crap, expensive bars. Just what I needed.

It was interesting to see a snapshot of the country at this stage in its history. Large parts of the USA are suffering from third-world standards of poverty, while incredible wealth still exists in places like Miami, LA and of course New York. But that’s common knowledge.

What’s less well known, at least to foreigners, is that the majority of Americans are kind, polite and very interested in what’s happening elsewhere. They are often well informed about world events too, though growing up with an American value system means that certain prejudices exist.

It’s hard, for example, for many people to believe that foreign nations can be safer or more affluent than the US, or even have more “freedom”. I felt a deep sorrow for the many genuine people who had fallen on hard times. But I didn’t meet anyone who had given serious thought to looking for work abroad.

As time passes, my road trip is slowly fading into memory. All I have to remind me of those long, hard days behind the wheel are a Mickey Mouse hat, a couple of uncashed chips from the Strat, a clutch of parking tickets a beer gut. Oh yeah, and a summons from somewhere called Redding, California, for an inexplicable driving offence.

And of course the car, which Ricky bravely drove across the country without a hitch. It’s now parked in the East Village, waiting for a buyer. I’m so far averaging a parking ticket a week, fighting a losing battle with traffic wardens and local residents who jealously guard the limited number of free spaces available.

Since returning to Manhattan I’ve renewed some good friendships, had my bicycle stolen, and rediscovered how rude and exploitative some people can be. But as long as you’re able to harden your heart and choose your acquaintances wisely, this is still an amazing city to live in. I’m heading back to England in a few weeks, but I’ll return if the stars align themselves right.

Thanks for checking out the blog.

Written by Hidden Jukebox

June 29, 2010 at 9:15 am

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. enjoyed hearing about your travels immensely. safe trip back to england.

    laura

    June 29, 2010 at 4:40 pm


Leave a comment